# The Mohali engineering profile of The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI) prints diesel in litres a month: does that tie to its 2,796 tonnes of oil equivalent (toe) a year?

Canonical: https://senseible.earth/answers/mohali-profile-diesel-litres-or-kilolitres

No. The five diesel entries add to 245.1 a month, or about 2,941 a year. As litres that is about 3 toe, not 2,796. As kilolitres it is about 2,796 toe, so the column is most likely in kilolitres. If it is, diesel is about 7,780 tonnes of carbon dioxide (CO2) a year.

## What the profile prints

- Monthly table, diesel (litres): tractor and auto parts 188.2, steel fabrication 26.9, railway components 16.7, bathroom and sanitary fittings 9.9, forging 3.4. Total 245.1 a month.
- Furnace oil (litres) a month: sanitary fittings 6.2, forging 30. Total 36.2.
- Electricity (million kilowatt hours, kWh) a month: 13.18, 1.88, 1.17, 0.69 and 0.24. Total 17.16.
- Energy source table, a year: electricity 17,716 toe, furnace oil 457 toe, diesel 2,796 toe, total 20,969 toe.

## Which unit ties

- Electricity ties as printed: 17.16 million x 12 = 205.9 million kWh, and 17,716 / 205.9 million is 0.086 toe for every 1,000 kWh.
- Diesel: 245.1 x 12 = 2,941. If that is litres, it is about 3 toe. If it is kilolitres (kL), it is the 2,796 toe printed. The ratio, 2,796 toe over 2,941 kL, is 0.95 toe per kL, but that ratio comes from assuming kilolitres, so it cannot confirm kilolitres by itself.
- Furnace oil: 36.2 x 12 = 434 kL, which gives 457 toe at about 1.05 toe a kL. That is 6 to 9% above the 0.99 and 0.96 toe per kL that the Rajkot and Chandigarh profiles imply, so it ties only approximately. Litres would not tie at all.
- Two independent leads point to kilolitres. The Chandigarh profile, in the same TERI template, prints diesel in kilolitres, with 1,857 toe over 1,955 kL, also 0.95 toe per kL. And 245 kL a month over the profile's 900 engineering units is about 270 litres a unit a month, plausible for diesel generator sets running 25 to 30 hours; 245 litres a month for the whole cluster would not be.
- My reading: the column heads say litres but the numbers are kilolitres. The profile does not state this, so the unit label is the thing to check, not the toe.

## What that means in carbon

If the column is kilolitres, 2,941 kL of diesel at 2.645 kg per litre is about 7,780 tonnes of CO2 a year (if it were litres, about 7.8 tonnes), for diesel generator (DG) sets that the profile says now run about 25 to 30 hours a month. Electricity at 0.675 kg per kWh is 205.9 million x 0.675, about 138,990 tonnes. So diesel would be about 5% of the two together. The profile prints no CO2 column for Mohali.

## Other small differences

The profile says electricity is 84% of the cluster's energy in one place and 85% in another; 17,716 / 20,969 is 84.5%. The sector table adds to 20,968 and the source table to 20,969, a one toe rounding difference.

## Diesel, two readings of one column

- Sum a month: 188.2 + 26.9 + 16.7 + 9.9 + 3.4 = 245.1
- Per year: 245.1 x 12 = 2,941
- As litres: 2,941 litres x 0.95 toe per kL is about 3 toe, against 2,796 printed
- As kilolitres: 2,941 kL x 0.95 = 2,796 toe. If so, CO2: 2,941,000 litres x 2.645 kg = 7,779 tonnes

Figures are the profile's (2015); the toe per kL ratio is worked out from the profile's own rows, not stated by TERI. Diesel factor is Senseible's 2.645 kg per litre; power at the Central Electricity Authority (CEA) factor for financial year (FY) 2025-26.

## What Senseible does here

Senseible reads fuel invoices and electricity bills into monthly records, so a year of power and diesel bills gives you your own totals to set beside these. It does not measure boilers or read a profile report, and it is not a third-party verifier.

- [Mohali tractor parts cluster footprint](https://senseible.earth/answers/mohali-tractor-parts-cluster-carbon)
- [Diesel generator emissions per kWh](https://senseible.earth/answers/dg-set-emissions-per-kwh-vs-grid)
- [Chandigarh profile LPG line: 20,417 tonnes?](https://senseible.earth/answers/chandigarh-engineering-profile-lpg-line-20417)
- [TERI profile CO2 lines: implied grid factors](https://senseible.earth/answers/teri-cluster-profiles-electricity-co2-implied-factor)
- [Free calculators](https://senseible.earth/calculators)

Sources: [TERI, Cluster profile: Mohali engineering industries (SAMEEEKSHA)](https://sameeeksha.org/pdf/clusterprofile/Mohali_Engineering_Punjab.pdf), [CEA, CO2 Baseline Database for the Indian Power Sector, version 22.0 (FY 2025-26 grid factor)](https://cea.nic.in/cdm-co2-baseline-view?mappingId=234&lang=en), [TERI, Cluster profile: Chandigarh engineering industries (SAMEEEKSHA)](https://sameeeksha.org/pdf/clusterprofile/Chandigarh-Engineering-Punjab-industries.pdf)

Last reviewed 2026-11-05. The unit reading is mine, from the profile's own totals and the Chandigarh profile in the same template. Recheck the profile if it is reissued.
