Senseible

The Petroleum Planning and Analysis Cell lists firewood at 4,750 kilocalories a kilogram, but the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change says 15.6 megajoules. Which heat value should I use?

The Petroleum Planning and Analysis Cell (PPAC) Ready Reckoner lists firewood at 4,750 kilocalories (kcal) per kilogram (kg), which is 19.9 megajoules (MJ). The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) default net calorific value is 15.6 MJ per kg. Charcoal, hard coal and lignite also sit inside the IPCC ranges.

The four fuels side by side

PPAC values from Table 9.1, converted at PPAC's own 1 kcal = 4.19 kilojoules. IPCC values are the Table 1.2 net calorific values in terajoules per gigagram, which equal MJ per kg, with the 95% range in brackets (the wood and charcoal ranges are IPCC expert judgement).

What PPAC does not say

Which one to use

  1. A heat value from your own fuel test, on the basis you weigh the fuel, beats both.
  2. With no test and an IPCC emission factor per terajoule (TJ), take the IPCC net value. The factor and the energy are then on the same basis. That is my reading of how to avoid mixing bases.
  3. If you need energy in joules for a report and only PPAC's figure is to hand, use it, name PPAC and Table 9.1, and say the basis is not stated.
  4. Pick one source and keep it for every year of the same fuel.

10 tonnes of firewood, carbon dioxide on both bases

112,000 kg CO2 per TJ is IPCC's Table 1.4 default for wood. This CO2 is biogenic and goes on its own line outside Scope 1, as the firewood answer on this site explains. The gap changes that line, not the Scope 1 total.

What Senseible does here

Senseible reads fuel invoices and electricity bills into monthly records. Firewood and coal bills show tonnes or quintals, not heat value, so keep any fuel test report beside the records.

Sources: PPAC Ready Reckoner 2025-26, Table 9.1 Average international Calorific Values of different fuels, IPCC 2006 Guidelines, Volume 2, Chapter 1 (Tables 1.2 and 1.4)

Last reviewed 2026-11-05. PPAC's table does not state a basis. If a later edition does, redo the comparison on that basis.