Best green loans for Indian MSMEs in 2027
SIDBI, IREDA and NBFC green lenders each fund different green projects, with different limits and paperwork, and many do not publish a rate.
Senseible’s loan-readiness check is listed here. Senseible does not lend, arrange or approve loans.
The list
1. SIDBI End to End Energy Efficiency (4E)
- Who it is for: Established MSMEs with three years of cash profit.
- Best for: A profitable unit replacing inefficient equipment without putting in its own money.
- Rate or cost: Rate not published; ask SIDBI.
- Strengths: Can fund the whole project cost. Covers civil works and commissioning, not just equipment.
- Limits: Needs three profitable years. Rate not published.
2. IREDA energy efficiency loans
- Who it is for: Companies and LLPs with larger energy-efficiency projects; ESCOs.
- Best for: Mid-sized companies and ESCOs financing energy-efficiency retrofits.
- Rate or cost: Grade-based rates; see Financing Norms.
- Strengths: Accepts ESCO and shared-savings projects. BEE grading and risk guarantee support.
- Limits: Rs 50 lakh minimum. Proprietors and partnerships need full bank guarantee or FD.
3. SIDBI Green Finance Scheme (GFS)
- Who it is for: New and existing Udyam-registered MSMEs, plus solar and green service providers or aggregators serving MSMEs.
- Best for: A new or growing MSME funding a broad green project, or an aggregator funding many small ones.
- Rate or cost: Rate not published; ask SIDBI.
- Strengths: Open to new units, not only those with three years' history. Large ceiling and open to aggregators.
- Limits: At least 25% must come from you. Rate and security only in the sanction letter.
4. IREDA rooftop solar loan scheme
- Who it is for: Aggregators and RESCOs; large roof owners.
- Best for: Solar aggregators financing many MSME rooftops.
- Rate or cost: Grade-based rates.
- Strengths: Aggregator route pools many small roofs. Clear published norms.
- Limits: 5,000 kWp minimum excludes a single MSME roof. No subsidy from IREDA.
5. SIDBI machinery loans (EXPRESS, SPEED, UDAY)
- Who it is for: MSMEs buying new machines; UDAY suits units under three years old.
- Best for: Replacing old machines with efficient new ones when a green scheme does not fit.
- Rate or cost: Rate not published.
- Strengths: UDAY serves new units that green loans with vintage rules exclude. Fast, digitally assessed EXPRESS route.
- Limits: Not a green product; no energy saving needed or rewarded. Rates not published.
6. SIDBI GCF-FMAP (Green Climate Fund loans)
- Who it is for: MSMEs in the listed sectors with low or medium environmental risk.
- Best for: Units in textile, foundry, plastic, brick, paper or steel re-rolling buying listed efficient equipment.
- Rate or cost: Not published.
- Strengths: Sector-specific equipment lists make eligibility concrete. Uses Green Climate Fund money.
- Limits: Limited to listed sectors. Amounts and rates not published.
7. RBI rules on MSME collateral
- Who it is for: Any micro or small enterprise borrowing from a bank.
- Best for: Small units pushing back when a bank asks for property on a small green loan.
- Strengths: Collateral-free floor for small loans. 14-working-day decision limit for loans up to Rs 25 lakh.
- Limits: Not a scheme; you still need a lender. Above Rs 25 lakh, each bank's own timelines apply.
8. MSE-GIFT and MSE-SPICE (RAMP schemes listed by SIDBI)
- Who it is for: Micro and small enterprises adopting green technology or circular practices.
- Best for: MSEs taking a green loan who want to check for an interest incentive on top.
- Rate or cost: Not published.
- Strengths: Government support that lowers the cost of a green loan. Covers circular economy projects other schemes miss.
- Limits: Whether the window is still open is unclear; ask the lender. Support rate and cap not on the page.
9. NBFC green lenders (RBI green deposit framework)
- Who it is for: Borrowers of deposit-taking NBFCs that raise green deposits.
- Best for: Borrowers comparing NBFC green products against bank and SIDBI routes.
- Strengths: NBFCs may lend green whether or not they raise green deposits. Published frameworks show what each lender counts as green.
- Limits: Terms vary by lender; check each lender’s own framework. Expect end-use checks and reporting.
10. Senseible green loan check (readiness step)
- Who it is for: Indian MSMEs preparing a green loan application.
- Best for: MSMEs getting their papers and emissions evidence ready before approaching a lender.
- Rate or cost: The check is free. Application prep on Essential and higher, from ₹499 a month billed yearly, plus GST.
- Strengths: Produces the bill-based evidence several schemes ask for (12 months of bills). Two-minute checklist of what a credit team will ask.
- Limits: Not a lender; the bank or SIDBI decides. A checklist, not an eligibility decision.
Side by side
| Tool | What it funds | Loan limits | Share financed | Who qualifies | Repayment period | Rate published | How to apply | Evidence asked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SIDBI End to End Energy Efficiency (4E) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Partly |
| IREDA energy efficiency loans | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Partly | Yes | Yes |
| SIDBI Green Finance Scheme (GFS) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Partly | No | Yes | Partly |
| IREDA rooftop solar loan scheme | Yes | Yes | Partly | Partly | Yes | Partly | Yes | Not stated |
| SIDBI machinery loans (EXPRESS, SPEED, UDAY) | Partly | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | No |
| SIDBI GCF-FMAP (Green Climate Fund loans) | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Partly | Not stated | No | Partly | Yes |
| RBI rules on MSME collateral | No | Yes | No | Yes | No | No | Partly | No |
| MSE-GIFT and MSE-SPICE (RAMP schemes listed by SIDBI) | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Partly | Not stated | No | Not stated | Not stated |
| NBFC green lenders (RBI green deposit framework) | Partly | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated | Partly |
| Senseible green loan check (readiness step) | No | No | No | Partly | No | No | Partly | Yes |
Which tools fit which situation
- Energy-efficiency upgrade: SIDBI End to End Energy Efficiency (4E), IREDA energy efficiency loans, SIDBI Green Finance Scheme (GFS)
- Rooftop solar: IREDA rooftop solar loan scheme, SIDBI Green Finance Scheme (GFS), SIDBI End to End Energy Efficiency (4E)
- New or replacement machinery: SIDBI End to End Energy Efficiency (4E), SIDBI machinery loans (EXPRESS, SPEED, UDAY), SIDBI GCF-FMAP (Green Climate Fund loans)
- Unit under three years old: SIDBI Green Finance Scheme (GFS), SIDBI machinery loans (EXPRESS, SPEED, UDAY), SIDBI End to End Energy Efficiency (4E)
- Small loan, no property to pledge: RBI rules on MSME collateral, SIDBI End to End Energy Efficiency (4E), IREDA energy efficiency loans
- Getting papers ready first: Senseible green loan check (readiness step), IREDA energy efficiency loans, SIDBI GCF-FMAP (Green Climate Fund loans)
How to choose
- Which green projects it pays for. Ask: "Is our exact equipment or project on the eligible list?"
- Published loan or cover limits. Ask: "What is the minimum and maximum, and does our project fit?"
- Share of project cost financed (the rest is your margin). Ask: "How much do we put in ourselves?"
- Who qualifies: years running, profits, Udyam, credit history. Ask: "How many years of profit do you need to see?"
- Repayment period. Ask: "How long to repay, and is there a moratorium?"
- Interest rate or fee published. Ask: "What rate, and is it fixed or linked to a benchmark?"
- How to apply: online portal, branch or referral partner. Ask: "Can we apply online, and who helps us fill it in?"
- Energy, emission or environmental evidence the lender asks for. Ask: "Which bills, audits or reports do you want with the application?"
Know what the money is for? Compare schemes by need.
Related guides: Best carbon credit platforms for 2027.