Senseible

In the Agra foundry profile of The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI), what do the typical cupola foundries A and B and induction foundries C and D emit, and how does its carbon dioxide (CO2) column add up?

TERI prints 100, 213, 3,080 and 11,300 tonnes of CO2 a year for Agra foundry types A to D. Power is about 0.82 kg a kilowatt hour (kWh) in those lines. At 0.675 the same inputs give about 98, 209, 2,540 and 9,336 tonnes.

The four typical foundries

How the printed CO2 column adds up

TERI prints no factors in the table. Two come out of the cluster table in the same profile: natural gas 3,902 tonnes over 2.229 million SCM is 1.75 kg per SCM, and graphite 4,141 tonnes over 1,422 tonnes is 2.912 kg per kg. The electricity row, 69,700 tonnes over 85 million kWh, is 0.82 kg per kWh, which equals the 0.822 the Central Electricity Authority (CEA) gives as its conventional-stations average, without renewables, for 2017-18. TERI does not say it used that figure.

With those three, A rebuilds to 11.5 + 42.0 + 46.6 = 100.1 tonnes against 100 printed, and B to 24.6 + 89.3 + 99.0 = 212.9 against 213. C gives 3,075 + 8.4 = 3,083 against 3,080 and D 11,316 + 21.0 = 11,337 against 11,300. The column does add up, on about 0.82 for power.

At today's grid factor, for comparison

What it means for a quote

A cupola foundry's total barely moves with the grid factor, because graphite and gas carry it. An induction foundry's total is its power bill times the factor, so the factor you choose is nearly the whole answer. Gas and graphite here use TERI's own implied ratios, so they are estimates; your gas and graphite invoices replace them.

Type C induction foundry

TERI's typical unit figures (profile year 2017-18) with the grid factor for FY 2025-26 from CEA version 22.0. Gas and graphite ratios are worked out from the profile's own cluster table, not stated by TERI.

What Senseible does here

Senseible reads fuel invoices and electricity bills into monthly records, so a year of power and fuel bills gives you your own totals to set beside these. It does not measure boilers or read a profile report, and it is not a third-party verifier.

Sources: TERI, Energy profile: Agra foundry cluster (SAMEEEKSHA), CEA, CO2 Baseline Database for the Indian Power Sector, version 22.0 (FY 2025-26 grid factor)

Last reviewed 2026-11-05. The table is TERI's 2017-18 profile. TERI does not state its factors; the ratios here are worked out and labelled as such.